Founded in 1956, Portland Review publishes prose, poetry, art, and translations reflecting a wide spectrum of aesthetic styles and voices. Produced by the graduate students in Portland State University’s English Department, Portland Review is proud to publish both established and emerging writers. During 2020, we made the switch to digital publishing. We publish one new piece each week, right here on our website.

Portland Review aims to:

  • showcase a diverse spectrum of literary and artistic engagement across genres and disciplines
  • encourage exploration and experimentation
  • make space for different approaches and vantage points
  • build literary community
  • acknowledge both the rich and conflicted history of Portland, as well as its connection to the natural environment of the Pacific Northwest and beyond
  • be a platform dedicated to issues of diversity, equity, and environmental awareness

Some of our past contributors include Kristen Arnett, Robert Crumb, Brian Doyle, Keith Flynn, Tess Gallagher, Martha Grover, Ursula K. Le Guin, Christopher Howell, Richard Hugo, David Ignatow, William Kittredge, Joanna Klink, Yusef Komunyakaa, Shayla Lawson, Margaret Malone, Ted Mathys, Valzhyna Mort, Carol Muske-Dukes, Lance Olsen, Hannah Sanghae Park, Jay Ponteri, Kevin Sampsell, Peter Sears, Ed Skoog, William Stafford, Primus St. John, Brian Turner, Natasha Vargas-Cooper, Lidia Yuknavitch, and Matthew Zapruder.

Work we’ve published has been anthologized in places such as the Best American series, Best Small Fictions, Best of the Net, and others. We are grateful to have received previous grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Oregon Arts Commission, and CLMP/Amazon Literary Partnerships.

To learn more about the history of the journal, please visit “On Issue One: Revisiting Portland Review’s First Edition.”

2021-22 Staff

Kynna Lovin

Kyndall Tiller

August Amoroso
Dan Chilton

Stephanie Paris

Jessamyn Duckwall
Joshua Stanek

Claire Plaster

Ashley Lockard

Karina Agbisit
Alexis Garrett
Alex Halbrook
Eric Larsh
Angela Northness
Samantha Rivas

August Aarnes
Alexander Chopra
Alex Roselio De La Cruz
Ciara Dreeszen
C.D. Habecker
Catherine Kane
Evan Kotsonis
James Grey Lindgren
Kiko Mendez
April Nash
Carmen Peters
Diane Tehrani
Matthew White
Devon Williams
Justin Woomer

Faculty Advisor: Janice Lee

Instructor: Michael J. Seidlinger

If you would like to receive Portland Review news and updates by email, please subscribe to our newsletter by completing the form at the bottom of this page.

For ordering information, please visit our Subscribe page.

If you have any additional questions or inquiries, please contact us at editor@portlandreview.org. Note we only accept submissions via our Submittable page. All unsolicited submissions sent by post or email will be deleted unread.